Plenary Speakers

Prof. Freek Kapteijn
Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Topic: Catalytic Engineering for Sustainability – Structuring Catalysts and Reactors for Multiphase Operation

Prof. Jack Legrand
University of Nantes, France

Topic: Concepts of the photobioreaction engineering

Jack LEGRAND is Professor in Chemical Engineering at the University of Nantes since 1988. He is specialist in transport phenomena and mixing in processes and (photo) bioreactors. He has ca 200 publications in international journals and is co-author of 16 patents. He is Director of the Joined Research Unit (UMR), constituted by about 200 people, GEPEA (Process Engineering for Energy, Environment and Food) between CNRS, University of Nantes, ONIRIS and School of Mines of Nantes. He was member of the national committee of the CNRS in the Engineering Science section between 2008 and 2012. Since 2009, he is co-coordinator of the thematic group “Biomass for Energy” of the French Alliance for the Research Coordination for Energy (ANCRE). Member since 2010 of the European Science Foundation in the EUROCORES (EUROpean COllaborative RESearch) programme EuroSolarFuels; Molecular Science for a Conceptual Transition from Fossil to Solar Fuels.

Prof. Jinghai Li
The Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), China

Topic: Mesoscience: Enabling Real-time Simulation of Chemical Engineering

Jinghai LI graduated from the Department of Thermal Engineering of the Harbin Institute of Technology in 1982. He entered a master’s degree program at his alma mater in the same year. He obtained his Ph.D. from the CAS Institute of Process Engineering (IPE), in Beijing in 1987. He conducted his post-doctoral research at the City University of New York and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. After returning to China in 1990, he served as assistant professor, associate professor, professor, vice director and director of IPE in succession. In February 2004, he was appointed a vice president of CAS. From 2006 to 2010, he serves as the president of AASA.
Prof. Li established the Energy-Minimization Multi-Scale (EMMS) model for gas-solid systems. The model has been extended to many different complex systems, and generalized into the EMMS paradigm of computation featuring the structural similarity between problem, modeling, software and hardware, which has been implemented by constructing a supercomputer with capacity of 1 Pflops and has been used widely in chemical and energy industries. He is also engaged research in clean coal technology.
He is the vice chairman of China Association of Science and Technology, the president of the Chinese Society of Particuology, the vice president of the Society of Energy Research. He sits on editorial committees or international advisory boards for several international periodicals, such as Powder Technology, Advances in Chemical Engineering and Chemical Engineering Science, and holds memberships from CAS( Chinese Academy of Sciences), TWAS (The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World) and STWA (Swiss Academy of Engineering),Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (RAEng), Foreign fellow of Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE, 2012).
Jinghai received a variety of prizes and honors, both national and international, including Particle Technology Forum Award from AIChE(2010), Medal Lecture Award from the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (2012), Hongkong Qiushi Young Scientist Prize (1996), two National Natural Science Awards (1989, 1995) and Young Scientist Prize(1996) in China, a Technology Innovation Prize from CAS (2001).

Dr. James Rekoske
Honeywell International Inc., USA

Topic: To be announced soon

Prof. Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos
Tufts University, USA

Topic: Sustainable solutions to low-temperature hydrogen production: atomically dispersed supported metal catalysts

Dr. Flytzani-Stephanopoulos is the Robert and Marcy Haber Endowed Professor in Energy Sustainability in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Tufts University. Her research uses heterogeneous catalysis principles to solve problems in the production of clean and sustainable energy. A focus of her work is the understanding of metal-metal and metal-oxide interaction at the atomic scale to guide the synthesis of new, more efficient catalysts. She has published more than 150 technical papers, and holds nine US patents. At Tufts, she directs the Nanocatalysis and Energy Laboratory. She is a Fellow of the AAAS and the AIChE and a recipient of several national and international awards. Since 2002, she has served as Editor of Applied Catalysis B: Environmental.

Prof. Jackie Ying
Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN), Singapore

Topic: Nanomaterials for Biomedical and Green Chemistry Applications

Jackie Y. Ying received her Ph.D. from Princeton University, and was Professor of Chemical Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is Executive Director of the Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN), Singapore. Her interdisciplinary research is focused on nanostructured materials and systems for catalytic and biomedical applications. She has authored over 310 articles, and has over 120 patents issued or pending. She is the Editor-in-Chief of Nano Today.
Prof. Ying’s awards include the American Ceramic Society Purdy Award, David and Lucile Packard Fellowship, Office of Naval Research and National Science Foundation Young Investigator Awards, Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, American Chemical Society Faculty Fellowship Award in Solid-State Chemistry, Technology Review’s Inaugural TR100 Young Innovator Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Colburn Award, World Economic Forum Young Global Leader, Chemical Engineering Science Danckwerts Lectureship, Singapore National Institute of Chemistry-BASF Award in Materials Chemistry, Asian Innovation Silver Award, and International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) Jubilee Medal. She was elected to the German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina, and named one of the “One Hundred Engineers of the Modern Era” by AIChE in its Centennial Celebration. She was selected as a Materials Research Society Fellow in 2013.

Comments are closed.